History About Us


The Embassy of India

The Indian Embassy imitates its surroundings, namely alone-standing structures, as a villa-like solitary volume. From the street the building appears to have a solid façade. A narrow vertical incision in the façade opens up the cylindrical atrium of the public entrance and provides a view deep into the structure.

The building appears to the outside as an oblong block and contains within its structure a complex arrangement of room sequences with a garden courtyard as its core. The correspondence of building and garden, each on a square plan, is evident above all in the interplay of mass and void between the entrance atrium and the built cylinder. The cubic forms are given expression through massive roughcast red Indian sandstone.

The public entrance to the embassy is accessed via the entrance atrium reached from the street façade. From here all areas accessible to the public can be reached, including the separately developed consulate. The public areas are grouped around the entrance atrium and an adjoining double-height hall. From this point one enters the ground floor function hall, which maintains as a vital feature its orientation to the garden courtyard. In addition to these facilities the public area includes an exhibition hall with an adjoining library and a business centre. 

\ \ \ \

Previous Indian Ambassadors to the Federal Republic of Germany

1. Mr. Subimal Dutt 1952-1954
2. Mr. A.C.N. Nambiar 1955-1958
3. Mr. Badruddin Tyabji 1958-1960
4. Mr. P. A. Menon 1960-1964
5. Mr. S K. Banerjee 1964-1967
6. Mr. Khub Chand 1967-1970
7. Mr. Kewal Singh 1970-1972
8. Mr. Y. K. Puri 1973-1975
9. Mr. M. A. Rahman 1975-1980
10. Prof. A. M. Khusro 1980-1982
11. Mr. R. D. Sathe 1982-1984
12. Mr. D. S. Kamtekar 1984-1986
13. Mr. J. C. Ajmani 1987-1988
14. Mr. A. Madhavan 1988-1991
15. Mr. Kishan S. Rana 1992-1995
16. Mr. S.K. Lambah 1995-1998
17. Mr. Ronen Sen 1998-2002
18. Mr. T.C.A. Rangachari 2002 2005
19. Mrs. Meera Shankar 2005-2009
20. Mr. Sudhir Vyas 2009-2011
21. Mrs. Sujatha Singh Mar 2012 - Jul 2013
22. Mr. Vijay Gokhale October 2013- January 2016
23. Mr. Gurjit Singh January 2016 - March 2017

Visitors: 1132477 , Page last updated on: 23/06/2021

Working hours: 9.00 hrs to 17.30 hrs

(Monday to Friday)